8 When thou saidst, Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, Lord, will I seek. 15 Verily thou art a God that hidest thyself, O God of Israel, the Saviour. 20 And He said, Thou canst not see my face: for there shall NO man see me and live. 14 Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name. 15 He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him. 16 With long life will I satisfy him, and SHOW HIM MY SALVATION. 9 Jesus saith… he that hath seen me hath seen the Father. 39 Behold my hands and my feet, that it is I myself: handle me, and see… 27 and be not faithless, but believing. Psalm 27:8; Isaiah 45:15; Ex 33:20; Ps 91:14-16; John 14:9; Luke 24;39; John 20:27

He loves me; he loves me not. At first, it seemed like a game of hide and seek with God. He says, “Here I am, but you can’t see me!” Then, in the New Testament, Jesus plainly said, “Blessed are the PURE IN HEART: for they shall see God” (Matt 5:8). So now, the mystery begins to be resolved. The purity of our hearts determines our visual acuity, where God is concerned. If you hadn’t quite clearly seen him yet, but truly love him, don’t be alarmed. Just keep growing spiritually, and your eyes will begin to clear. As it says,

12 For now we see through a lens, dimly; but then face to face… 18 But we all with unveiled faces, are beholding as through a lens the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord. 1Cor 13:12; 2Cor 3:18 JED

Therefore, as we grow our hearts are purified more and more by the Holy Spirit. As that happens, we can perceive God more and more clearly. The purity of our hearts is aided by the clarity of the spirit of our minds. These keep pace with each other. That’s why the Word tells us repeatedly, “Be ye transformed by the RENEWING of your mind” (Rom 12:2). Our minds eye is our “lens.” But, these are only technical matters.

At the heart of seeing God is a whole-soul experience, and emotionally charged. I will share the remainder of this message from personal experience. I was having a divine visitation one year, and I glimpsed God’s face. The deepest, naked part of God’s heart was unveiled to the deepest, naked part of my heart. And, I finally recognized him. It was like, “My long lost Dad is found at last!” What I felt was pure, unspeakable joy. And, I wept, even sobbed. No words were adequate to convey the feeling, only a spontaneous flood of emotion. So, I wept — tears of joy, tears of acknowledgment, of fulfillment, of deep satisfaction, of humbleness, of gratitude, and of deep relief. I had a wonderful earthly dad, but this was my REAL dad. And, I was so-o-o glad to be reunited with him. And, I felt peace like a river settle over my soul.

Leave a comment